Cycle Training For Children - Level 1 & 2

Free cycle training for children aged 10 and over to help build the skills and confidence to ride a bike safely on the road

Bikeability is today’s national cycle training scheme. It’s like cycling proficiency, but better! It’s about gaining practical skills and understanding how to cycle on today’s roads. 

There are three Bikeability levels, each designed to improve cycling skills, from whatever level. The two day Level 1 & 2 course starts with basic control skills (Level 1), then teaches trainees the skills to cycle safely on local roads (Level 2). 

Level 3 equips trainees with the skills to tackle a wider variety of traffic conditions than Level 2. It enables trainees to plan and make independent journeys on busier roads.

Level 1 and 2 Bikeability Course (2 day course)

Level 1 teaches trainees to control and master a bike. The training takes place in a secure environment away from cars and traffic.  Level 1 encourages and develops basic cycle control skills and gives trainees the confidence to use their cycles more often.

 

Level 2 is delivered on local roads. It gives trainees a real cycling experience that equips them with skills to deal with traffic on short journeys, such as cycling to school or the local shops.  Level 2 will encourage and develop safe cycling skills, develop positive attitudes towards road use, increase knowledge and understanding of the road and traffic environment and give trainees the confidence to use their bicycles on local road.

 

Current Course Dates 2018

Please note the Level 1 & 2 courses are a two day course and your child must attend both days in order to gain their Bikeability Level 1 & 2.  We have a choice of either a.m or p.m. courses so please state which course you would like to book when contacting us.

 

Saturday Course Dates

(a.m. 09:00 - 12:30 & p.m. 13:00 - 16:30)

  • Sat 23 Jun & Sat 30 Jun (a.m. course only)
  • Sat 7 Jul & Sat 14 Jul 

Summer Half Term Course Dates

(a.m. 09:00 - 12:30 & p.m. 13:00 - 16:30)

  • Tue 29 May  & Wed 30 May (both courses now fully booked)
  • Thu 31 May  & Fri 1 Jun (both courses places available)

Summer Holiday Course Dates 

(a.m. 09:00 - 12:30 & p.m. 13:00 - 16:30)

  • Mon 23 Jul & Tue 24 Jul 
  • Wed 25 Jul & Thu 26 Jul 
  • Tue 31 Jul & Wed 1 Aug 
  • Thu 2 Aug & Fri 3 Aug 
  • Mon 6 Aug & Tue 7 Aug 
  • Wed 8 Aug & Thu 9 Aug
  • Tue 14 Aug & Wed 15 Aug
  • Thu 16 Aug & Fri 17 Aug 
  • Mon 20 Aug & Tue 21 Aug

Course Location

The sessions take place at Kings Park Cycle Centre.

 

Who can join?

Children who:

  • are aged between 10 and 16 years old (Level 1 and 2) and children aged between 11 and 18 (Level 3).

  • can ride a bike one handed in order to indicate and look over their shoulder.

  • have their own bike and helmet and have permission from a parent or carer to take part.

  • live or go to school in Bournemouth.

How long does the level 1 and 2 course take?

  • During term time, Level 1 and 2 courses are held over two consecutive Saturdays.

  • During school holidays, Level 1 and 2 courses are held on two consecutive days.

  • The 2 day course takes a total of 7 hours from 09:00 – 12:30 on day one. 09:00 - 12:30 on day two. 

To complete the course, children must attend both dates.
 

Instructors

Our instructors are all fully qualified to the National Standard, are DBS checked and first aid trained.

Cost

We offer our Kings Park Bikeability courses free of charge at present as we receive funding from the Department of Transport. 

How to book

Please email us at road.safety@bournemouth.gov.uk or call 01202 454636 with the following details together with your preferred course date(s):-

  • Parent or guardian's full name

  • Child’s full name

  • Age of child

  • School

  • Year group

  • Address

  • Landline

  • Mobile (for emergencies)

  • Preferred course date(s) and time(s)

Courses are booked on a first come, first served basis. Places are limited so please contact us as soon as possible with your preferred course date and time. The courses do get booked up very fast.  It's also helpful if you can give a couple of alternative dates.

Sometimes emails may get caught in the Junk/Spam folder. We recommend you check these folders if you are expecting an email from us.

We also offer Bikeability courses to all schools. Check with your child's school to see if they will be offering it. 

This is managed by our Road Safety team and part-funded through the Department for Transport.