Ofsted stands for the Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills.

Parents should always check that a childcare setting is Ofsted registered. The childcare setting will be happy to show you their latest inspection report and their registration certificate must be clearly displayed.

At least every three to four years, Ofsted carry out an inspection and award a grade for the quality of:

  • learning
  • development
  • care provided
  • how they meet the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This sets the standards for all learning, development and care of children under five.

To reach an overall judgement, Ofsted inspectors will look at:

  • How well the setting meets the needs of the range of children who attend
  • The contribution the setting makes to the children’s well-being
  • How well the setting is managed
  • The overall quality and standards of the setting

The grades awarded are:

  • Grade 1: Outstanding
  • Grade 2: Good
  • Grade 3: Requires Improvement*
  • Grade 4: Inadequate 

*If inspected before November 2013, this grade will be referred to as Satisfactory

For further information on Ofsted and to view Ofsted reports, please visit: www.ofsted.gov.uk or
Tel: 0300 123 1231.