European Parliamentary Elections

European Parliamentary Elections, BCP Council, South West Region

European Parliamentary Election results

Votes will be counted and declared on Sunday 26 May.

As results are being declared, they will be available on:

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council is part of the South West Region for this election which took place on 23 May..

The South West will elect 6 Members of the European Parliament (MEP).  

Who can vote

You must be registered to vote and also be one of the following:

  • 18 years of age or over on polling day
  • a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union resident in the UK.
  • a UK citizen living abroad who has been registered to vote in the UK in the last 15 years
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote

If you're an EU citizen living in the UK

If you're a citizen of an EU country (other than the UK, Ireland, Malta and Cyprus) resident in the UK, you can either vote in the UK or in your home country.

If you want to vote in:

  • your home country, you must contact the electoral authorities in the EU country.
  • the UK, you must be registered by 7th May, as as completed and sent the European Parliament Voter registration form to us.

Voting options and your poll card

If you know you won't be able to vote in person, then you can either:

  • apply to vote by post (by 5pm 8 May 2019)
  • apply to vote by proxy, appoint someone else to vote on your behalf (by 5 pm 15 may 2019)

If you've chosen to vote in person and providing your name is on the electoral register, you will receive a poll card which tells you where you should vote.

If you have already chosen to vote by post then you will receive a poll card which tells you when and where your voting papers will be sent.

Emergency Proxy votes

In certain circumstances, where you have an emergency that means you cannot go to the polling station in person, you can apply for an emergency proxy up to 5pm on the day of the poll:

The application must reach the Electoral Registration Officer at one of the Electoral Offices listed below by 5 pm on Thursday, 23 May 2019.

  • Bournemouth Electoral Office, Town Hall, Bourne Avenue, Bournemouth, BH2 6DY
  • Christchurch Electoral Office, Civic Offices, Bridge Street, Christchurch, BH23 1AZ
  • Poole Electoral Office, Civic Centre, Municipal Road, Poole, BH15 2RU

Election day and results

Polling stations are open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 23 May.

The Votes will be counted and declared on Sunday 26 May.

As results are being declared, they will be available on:

Notice of election

Notice of Election 23 May 2019

Statement of Parties and individual candidates nominated

Location of Polling stations

Notice of Regional Election Agents

Standing for election

Guidance for Parties and Candidates wishing to stand for the European Parliamentary elections 

Nomination papers for individual candidates

Nomination papers for parties

Payment of deposit information